"From the impossible to the inevitable, there is only belief, skill and will." Alberto M. Carvalho


Alberto M. Carvalho has served as Superintendent of Miami-Dade County Public Schools, the nation’s fourth largest school system, since September 2008. He is a nationally recognized expert on education transformation, finance, and leadership development. During his tenure, M-DCPS has become one of the nation’s highest-performing urban school systems receiving systemwide accreditation from AdvancEd in 2014. The District has also been named as the 2014 College Board Advanced Placement Equity and Excellence District of the Year, as well as the 2012 winner of the Broad Prize for Urban Education. As a staunch believer in school choice, he has expanded choice options in Miami-Dade to include over 500 offerings including programs in fine and performing arts, biotechnology, engineering, robotics, aviation, forensic sciences, and many others.

An instructional leader at heart, Mr. Carvalho is also the proud founder and self-appointed principal the award-winning iPrep Academy which has become a model of robust 21st century learning in the age of innovation and technology. Recognized by his peers as a leader, he has served as President of the Association of Latino Administrators and Superintendents; been selected as Florida’s 2014 Superintendent of the Year, as well as the 2014 National Superintendent of the Year; was named by Scholastic Administrator as one of “The Fantastic Five” educators making a difference in America; and is the 2016 winner of the 2016 Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education, as well as the Magnet Schools of America 2016 Superintendent of the Year. He has recently been appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Education to serve a four-year term on the National Assessment Governing Board. Mr. Carvalho has been awarded many honorary degrees including a Doctor of Public Service by Florida International University; Doctor of Humane Letters by both Barry University and Florida Memorial University; and a Doctor of Pedagogy, Honoris Causa from Nova Southeastern University. He has been honored by the President of Portugal with the “Ordem de Mérito Civil” and by Mexico with the “Othli Award”.

Social Media


Mr. Alberto M. Carvalho

Superintendent of Schools

Ms. Valtena G. Brown

Deputy Superintendent/Chief Operating Officer, School Operations

Mr. Jose L. Dotres

Chief Human Capital Officer, Office of Human Capital Management

Ms. Daisy Gonzalez-Diego

Chief Communications Officer, Office of Communications

Ms. Maria L. Izquierdo

Chief Academic Officer, Office of Academics and Transformation

Mrs. Judith M. Marte

Chief Financial Officer, Financial Services

Ms. Lisa M. Martinez

Chief Strategy Officer, Office of the Superintendent

Ms. Iraida R. Mendez-Cartaya

Associate Superintendent, Office Of Intergovernmental Affairs, Grants Administration And Community Engagement

Mr. Ian A. Moffett

Chief of Police and District Security

Mr. Carl Nicoleau

Assistant Superintendent, Maintenance Operations

Mr. Jaime G. Torrens

Chief Facilities Officer, Office of School Facilities

Senior Staff

Mr. Alberto M. Carvalho

Superintendent of Schools

Dr. Magaly C. Abrahante

Assistant Superintendent, Title I Administration, Early Childhood Programs, Summer Services

Mr. Victor Alonso

Administrative Director, Design and Sustainability

Ms. Joyce M. Castro

Assistant Superintendent, Human Capital, Office of Human Capital Management

Mr. Scott B. Clark

Risk and Benefits Officer, Office of Risk and Benefits Management

Mr. Steffond L. Cone

Assistant Superintendent, School Operations

Dr. Maria de Armas

Assistant Superintendent, Curriculum and Instruction, K-12 Core Curriculum

Dr. Sylvia J. Diaz

Assistant Superintendent, Innovation and School Choice, Office of Academics and Transformation

Mr. Leo Fernandez

Treasurer, Office of Treasury Management

Ms. Tabitha G. Fazzino

Administrative Director, Business Services, Accountability & Performance, Office of the Superintendent

Mr. Luis M. Garcia

Chief of Regulatory Compliance and Governance

Mr. Robert G. Gornto

Assistant Superintendent, School Operations

Ms. Deborah Karcher

Chief Information Officer, Information Technology Services

Mr. Gerald D. Kitchell

Deputy Chief, Miami-Dade Schools Police Department

Ms. Barbara A. Mendizabal

Region Superintendent, South Region Office

Dr. David K. Moore

Assistant Superintendent, Curriculum & Instruction Education Transformation Office

Ms. Tiffanie A. Pauline

Assistant Superintendent, Charter School Support, School Operations

Dr. Albert Payne, Jr.

Region Superintendent, Central Region Office

Mr. Raul Perez

Assistant Superintendent, Construction Management, Office of Capital Improvement

Ms. Connie Pou

Controller, Office of the Controller

Dr. Ana Rasco

Assistant Superintendent, Office of Human Capital Management

Ms. Ana Rijo-Conde

Deputy Chief Facilities and Eco-Sustainability Officer, Planning, Design and Sustainability

Ms. Vivian Santiestebanpardo

Region Superintendent, North Region Office

Mr. John Schuster

Administrative Director, Office of Public Relations

Mr. Ron Y. Steiger

Chief Budget Officer, Office of Budget Management

Ms. Melody Thelwell

Chief Procurement Officer, Office of Procurement Management Services

Mr. John Whitehead, III

Assistant Superintendent, Facilities Operations

Mr. Brian Williams

Economic Development Officer, Office of Economic Development

Get In Touch